Queen's Award Winners International Trade 2012

Posted on: 06/06/2012

The Queen's Awards for Enterprise are highly prestigious awards for outstanding achievement by UK businesses in the categories of: Innovation, Sustainable Development and,our key area of business, International Trade.  Congratulations to the 151 companies who won the Queen's Award for International Trade this year - FULL LIST OF WINNERS -  but an extra special congratulations to the 15 Strong & Herd LLP clients who won this award.

  • Allen & Heath, Penryn Cornwall;
  • Americhem, Eccles Manchester;
  • Boxford, Elland, W Yorkshire;
  • Boxfresh International Ltd, London
  • Elektra Ltd, Crawley, W Sussex;
  • Focusrite Audio Engineering Ltd, High Wycombe Buckinghamshire;
  • Glen Dimplex Home Applicances Ltd, Prescot Merseyside;
  • James H Heal & Co Ltd, Halifax W Yorkshire;
  • Laser Quantum, Stockport Cheshire;
  • Nichols plc, Newton-le-Willows Merseyside;
  • Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK Ltd, Sunderland Tyne & Wear;
  • Oliver Valvetek Ltd, Knutsford Cheshire;
  • Ramsden Intl, Grimsby Lincolnshire;
  • Regatta Ltd, Urmston Manchester and
  • Walker Filtration Ltd, Washington Tyne & Wear.

Will you be a winner next year?

The Queen's Awards are made annually by HM The Queen, and are only given for the highest levels of excellence demonstrated in each category.  There is also an individual award, Enterprise Promotion, which is granted to people who play a significant role in promoting enterprise skills and encourage entrepreneurial attitudes in others in the UK.  Entry to the Queen's Awards can be made between 21 April and the last working day of September every year, and it is free to enter. However there may be some cost incurred in accumulating the appropriate supporting paperwork.

Each Queen's Awards category has different entry criteria that you must meet before you enter. To find out whether you qualify to enter please see the guide on The Queen's Awards for Enterprise.

A Bit of History

The Award Scheme, originally known as The Queen’s Award to Industry, was instituted by Royal Warrant in 1965 following the recommendations of a Committee chaired by HRH The Duke of Edinburgh. The first awards were made in 1966.  The Scheme was reviewed in 1970 by a Committee chaired by Lord McFadzean and in 1975 by one again chaired by HRH The Duke of Edinburgh, as a result of which The Queen’s Award to Industry was replaced in 1976 by two separate Awards – The Queen’s Award for Export Achievement and The Queen’s Award for Technological Achievement.  In 1993 a third Award, The Queen’s Award for Environmental Achievement, was instituted by Royal Warrant. The Scheme continued until 1999 when a Committee chaired by HRH The Prince of Wales carried out a comprehensive review. They recommended that the Awards be collectively known in future as The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise with three categories of Award for outstanding achievement in International Trade, Innovation and Environmental Achievement. The last was to be replaced as soon as possible by a category for outstanding achievement in Sustainable Development. The first Queen’s Awards for Enterprise were made in 2000 and the Sustainable Development category introduced in 2001. The Review Committees’ recommendations form the basic rules under which the Scheme operates.

< Back to our Import and Export News

Contact Strong & Herd
to discuss your requirements
0161 499 7000
0161 499 7100
Strong & Herd LLP, Manchester International Office Centre
Styal Road, Manchester, M22 5WB