EU Free Trade Agreement with ASEAN Countries

Posted on: 01/11/2013

After the successful conclusion to the FTA between EU and Singapore the EU is continuing talks with other members of ASEAN.  This is one of the larger EU agreements under negotiation and will progress slowly through the member countries. ASEAN are: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Laos, Burma/Myanmar and Cambodia.

  • Final Agreement with Singapore in place September 2013
  • Vietnam had the 5th Round of talks in October 2013; could be resolved within 18 months. 
  • Thailand, negotiations continue, next talks November 2013.
  • Malaysia, the negotiations were paused in 2012 due to a general election hopefully they will restart in 2014, especially as Malaysia will lose GSP status 2014. 


Click here to sign up to our free Spotlights!

Subscribe to our free information emails covering international trade topics .... Spotlights on key topics SAMPLE      

CLICK HERE to subscribe

How can Strong and Herd LLP Help?

< Back to our Import and Export News

Contact Strong & Herd
to discuss your requirements
0161 499 7000
0161 499 7100
Strong & Herd LLP, Manchester International Office Centre
Styal Road, Manchester, M22 5WB