EU opens doors to 16 island nations

Posted on: 15/04/2014

Nationals from 16 small island nations in the Caribbean and Pacific regions, the United Arab Emirates, Peru and Colombia will now be able to come to the Schengen area of the European Union without a visa. 

Commissioner of the European Parliament has confirmed that it has voted in favour of visa-free travel for the nationals of 19 countries.

"I am pleased that once the necessary procedures are completed. This will open up opportunities and advantages also for EU citizens, as any existing visa requirement for EU citizens to travel to these countries will be eliminated," Cecilia Malmstrom, commissioner for home affairs said.  Malmstrom added, "The solution found to include Peru and Colombia on the visa-free list is a good result. It strikes the right balance between the desire to offer visa-free travel to Peruvian and Colombian nationals and the need to avoid migratory risks and safeguard the security of the EU. In this regard, the Commission is committed to prepare the necessary additional assessment for Peru and Colombia as soon as possible."

European Union opens doors to 16 island nations

International Trade Up-dates into your inbox twice a month

What to keep up to date on customs and international trade issues – subscribe to our OneCall service which combines regular practical updates (Did You Know?) and a helpline support service. MORE INFORMATION

Link to sign up for Spotlight

Subscribe to our free information emails covering international trade topics .... Spotlights on key topics SAMPLE      

CLICK HERE to subscribe


Export Essentials

Advanced Guide to Customs Procedures

Understanding Free Trade Agreements

Diploma in World Customs Compliance Procedures


< Back to our Import and Export News

Contact Strong & Herd
to discuss your requirements
0161 499 7000
0161 499 7100
Strong & Herd LLP, Manchester International Office Centre
Styal Road, Manchester, M22 5WB